Just in case….

… you wanted to know, which it is fairly clear some of you don’t, here are some of the bits of me you choose to bury beneath a label:
– I like crosswords. And sudoku, but mostly crosswords.
– I am, as a rule, shy to the point of paralysis.
– I write because it makes me happy, and because I enjoy sharing. And by writing rather than speaking, that paralysis is almost avoidable.
– I read. Endlessly.
– I used to sing. A lifetime ago. And I adore music of all genres.
– I have almost more godchildren than I can count.
– I have family. Small. But family. We argue. I occasionally wonder how we are even related until I see a look in an eye, a tone in a voice. And then it is abundantly clear where to find my family.
– Mostly single. Except when I’m not.
– Type one diabetic, with the added bonus of a chronic nerve disorder. But alive. When I very nearly wasn’t. And possibly should not be now.
– An ankle made of titanium. But you probably knew that.
– And I am far more than a job. And I’ll thank the world outside to remember this. I love the world of wine. It frustrates me endlessly, and is a great portion of my life. And I am very good at what I do, which brings me here:
     ● I am more than entitled to voice an opinion, without being relegated to being a ‘marketing’ voice. Not that the role of ‘marketing’ when done right merits denigrating.
     ●Marketing? A part of what I do, and a part of which I am very proud. It is NOT a dirty word, and in a largely populated wine shelf, a necessary part of the business of wine. And for that, I refuse to apologise.
     ●Because I talk to consumers at pretty much every level of wine purchase and consumption, and listen to them, I feel like these words have value in discussions about wine. They may not be popular. But, being the words of every day consumers? So very valid. Popular or not.
    ●Shrouding these as the opinions of a ‘marketer’ when that term is patently meant to be derogatory, is dismissive of the opinions of the people buying our wines. It elevates some wines over others, and dismisses the work of many.
     ●I never invited those of you dismissing my wines into my winery. Not this one. Not the last one. So you are welcome to your opinions, but kindly resist the desire to pigeonhole wines as being of poor quality, or produced under poor practices when in truth you have no idea of how the wines are produced.

Choose your words with care. This industry builds itself up as much as it issues casual backhanders. And often? Often people seem to forget that the consumers, our fans, our people, are right there. Within earshot. Listen to the consumer. Work with them. Enlighten rather than dictate. Engage.

ENGAGE.

People are individuals. With lives. With things going on you have no right to know. Just treat them as people. Not customers. Not targets. PEOPLE.

2 comments on “Just in case….

  1. Kate, Interested about your comment re shyness. Not what I would have thought even though I really don’t know you. Ditto. It’s why I don’t get involved in committees etc but write letters to politicians and generally work behind the scenes when something needs to be done. And I sell real estate for a living!! Hate large groups, stand up drinks occasions with strangers, as I never feel comfortable and small talk doesn’t work with me. My other half is the opposite which perhaps is often the case. Your frankness is refreshing. Keep writing, you may be surprised how many people enjoy it even though they may not comment.

    Bob

    >

    • Thanks Bob. I learned fairly early on to wear personalities like masks. Here on social media I am more open because I can hide behind the app. I kinda bluster sometimes to hide the more real part of me.

Leave a Reply

