Bring. It. On.

I’m going to go on record saying that 2013 has not been my favourite year in recent history. Out of adversity, however…

Hard, fast vintage. Don’t think I slept. But nothing new there.

Shattered ankle. Currently made now of titanium more than bone. Hurts when a storm is brewing. When it is cold. When it is strikingly hot. And stopped me from working vintage in Catalyud this year.

Websites and events drawing a gender line in the winemaking dirt. This still makes me so very angry, but apparently this has connected buyers with brands, which is not a bad thing. I do, however, deplore this underhanded and spiteful tactic.

Websites picking on the wine industry to sell wine. No. I don’t understand this either.

WFA simultaneously managing to irk pretty much every level of the wine game.

Wine Australia: much the same.

Savour managing to promote Australian wine to the world whilst ignoring the biggest selling price point, in order to develop Brand Australia.

Being called a mercenary and a sophist. Apology received for the former, and to be honest? I wear the latter with pride regardless of the tone behind the allocation of that tag.

We lost a friend just over a year ago. Are you ok, wine world? Because most of us want to know if you aren’t, and to help where we can.

Bought a house. With a spiral staircase. With shattered ankle. I’m a bright spark.

Plotted and schemed. To hopefully bear fruit in 2014.

Ranted.

Fell thuddingly out of love. And into a version of me less defined by those around me. And realised that being loved is not the same as loving someone. I’m a bit slow off the mark sometimes.

Learned a little patience. And when in need of help, to ask. And that people like helping.

Wrote a couple of chapters. Sang loudly, and often.

A little more cyborg than the previous version, and little more prepared to take a stand.

Internet dating – hilarious. Mind-bendingly silly. I don’t recall dating being this funny. Or there being that many overt polyamorists being around.

Trained. Between rehab, Pilates, hydrotherapy, physio and gym sessions, I should be some kind of athlete by now. Except for the drinking…

Oh, and the drinking…. Brash Higgins Zibbibo. Vinteloper Mo. K+B Rizz. The Pawn Chardonnay (Keelan – call me! Need to order….). Delamere blanc de blanc (be still my beating heart!). Pikes Merle 13 – being drunk in honour of the eponymous aunt who decided that the oesophageal cancer devouring her from within could not have her death. She died on her own terms. Quietly. Happily. 06 Prophet’s Rock Pinot Noir. Protero Nebbiolo. Yelland and Papps’ two roussane (which my tablet corrects to ‘romance’…!) and all their Grenache. My 11 Clare Cabernet, and the baby: the 12 bush vine Grenache. Gruner – most of them. Sam Scott’s Fiano – a thing of beauty.  Faux Pas Grenache. Chapel Hill Mourvedre. Somerled Pinot Rosé. Bosworth Chardonnay and Puritan Shiraz, both for sheer slurpability. Bobar Syrah. Ochota Rosé, and that glorious pinot. And so very many more…..

The wines served by Brooks in Melbourne, and Fix and Wine Library in Sydney, by Print Hall in Perth, Eden in Glenelg and Press in Adelaide. Cantina Sociale and Alpha Box and Dice for throwing reverence out the window, and being purely about enjoyment.

Listening to Andrea Frost being not just innovative, but reminding us all where the joy in this game lies.

Talking to people in this game who always want for more, for better. I could go on for days, naming names. But I won’t.

There are always things I wish I could fix, and I think that with a coherent industry voice, we could be so very much better. But we are doing pretty well. Making stunning wines, and making no apologies. Being innovative, and vibrant, and joyous – most of the time.

I think we need to talk to each other more. Not in the context of events, and shows and judging, but away from these. Just as people talking about how we can be better. No more a vested interest than any others at the table, none hiding their cards. Just exploring how we can be better.

So here is to 2014: may it be brilliant.

And preferably with fewer broken bones…

And really, ARE YOU OK?

Because I would rather not run out of tears in 2014 like I have in 2013. We want to help, if we can…

And we can. Really we can.

2014: bring it on.

2 comments on “Bring. It. On.

  1. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Bless you!

    • Hi Jefferey,

      I cannot find a comment ever made by you under that name on this site. If there is another identity you use, I can spam the comment which should remove you from any notifications. Just let me know.

      Kate

Leave a Reply

